Cage Warriors End Of Year Awards Revealed

Mason Jones Celebrating After Cage Warriors Win

Image source: Cage Warriors Instagram (@cagewarriors)

2019 has been a great year for the Cage Warriors promotion with lots of exciting fights and breakthrough fighters emerging. The promotion has revealed their end of year awards to finish off 2019 before heading into their busiest ever year in 2020. The awards were opened up for fan votes to decide who was the winner of each category.

Quick Results

Fighter of the Year

Mason “The Dragon” Jones was officially crowned the Cage Warriors Fighter of the Year for 2019. The undefeated Welshman went 2-0 in 2019 with wins over Donovan Desmae and Aleksi Mantykivi. Jones also won the KO/TKO of the Year award in 2018 for his stoppage win over Kacper Formela.

The 8-0 Jones will be firmly set on a title shot as we enter the new decade and winning the prestigious Cage Warriors title should surely give the UFC another Welshman on the roster.

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

The 2019 breakthrough fighter of the year has been awarded to Nathan Fletcher who made his professional debut in 2019 and put together a 2-0 record. Fletcher competed in Cage Warriors as an amateur fighter going 4-1 with Cage Warriors and 6-1 in total.

Fletcher finished both of his fights via submission to kick start his professional career right. Fighting out of the Next Generation MMA gym in Liverpool means Fletcher is training with world class UFC and Cage Warriors talent including Molly McCann and Paddy Pimblett.

KO/TKO of the Year

Morgan Charriere’s fans came out in full force for this one as Charriere’s knockout win over Dean Trueman won the vote by a landslide 96%.

The fight took place in the co-main event of Cage Warriors 109 in Birmingham. Charriere controlled the fight well and likely won the first two rounds of the bout before stopping Trueman in the third round with a brutal barrage of strikes.

The fanbase Charriere has got, combined with the explosive striking he has shown may be enough to earn him a shot at current featherweight champion Mads Burnell in the new year.

Submission of the Year

Another Welshman makes the cut here as Jack Shore wins the award for his submission over Scott Malone at Cage Warriors 104.

The performance saw Shore defend his Cage Warriors bantamweight crown getting Malone’s back and landing some heavy ground and pound before sinking in the rear naked choke.

The performance improved Shore’s record to 11-0 and got him a shot in the UFC where he secured another third-round rear naked choke in his UFC debut over Nohelin Hernandez. “Tank” will now be looking to progress up the UFC bantamweight ladder and make himself a contender in the division.

Fight of the Year

The last award up for grabs was the Fight of the Year award and this was awarded to Mehdi Ben Lakhdar and Joe McColgan for their fight at Cage Warriors Unplugged 2.

The fight was a three round war that saw both fighters land big bombs on each other and ultimately ended in a majority draw.  

More From Combat Overload

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *